top of page
  • Writer's pictureDoris Clark

2020, the Past, and the Future



I don’t dwell in the past as I once did. The future can be a little scary at times. But the Present Moment? I savor it. I do my best to live in it. If you think about it, this moment in time, this very moment, all is right with the world. As soon I step out of it there can be concern for this or that, everything that keeps me from being at peace.


I will take a moment and comment on this past year. It had it’s ups and downs. Attempting to stay detached from the downs, and focus on what needed to be done, kept me in a more positive mood.


"Yesterday's the past, tomorrow's the future, but today is a gift."

Some of the “ups” of 2019–

Being a part of our 50th Class Reunion committee. Reconnecting with people after we have matured has been a pleasure. Hopefully we will be able to stay connected. The reunion itself was a huge success. Unfortunately, it was ten days after I had knee surgery so I was unable to attend. Bummer!


The fact that I had knee surgery, (replacement), could be looked at as a “downer.” However, after the long period of time that I spent in pain, it was a relief to have it behind me. I was told a knee replacement involves three months of hard work recuperating. I was prepared for that. The physical therapy and the pain was a different type. It was recovery pain. I did work hard. I did what my doctor and physical therapists told me to do, and it paid off. I walk well now, and I am looking forward to spring when I can begin to get some hiking in once again. I will always have to keep my joints working well and staying flexible, however, it has been an “upper” indeed.


I published my memoir Rowing My Boat Ashore in 2019. I never thought I could do that, but once I made the decision, it was full steam ahead. I grew a lot throughout the process in ways I didn’t know I needed too. All in all it was a very positive experience. I am grateful for that as some of the chapters were not all that easy to write.


“So what’s next? What will 2020 create in my life? My plan is for more joy.


I have writing in the works, and hopefully, some of it will be ready for my editor by year’s end.


I’m working on getting back into shape. Last spring I hadn’t been given a positive diagnosis for my knee, and it was really discouraging. I stopped working out as much as I had been, and started eating! Once I got my second opinion, which was positive, it gave me hope for the future. I have been working out and walking rigorously for now. I have also jumped back on the WeightWatcher wagon.




I read many good books in the last year and will read many more this year. (if you haven’t read The Goldfinch I highly recommend it.)


Those things alone will fill up my year. That is besides any spur of the moment fun!


I’m going to live my life well. I deserve it.


Here’s to the New Year!

Doris




© Doris Clark, January, 2020

 

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page