top of page
  • Writer's pictureDoris Clark

A Refinishing Project

Updated: May 25, 2020


This seems to be a good time to start a project with being home so much. I usually am home a lot anyway, so I guess I am using the Shelter In Place as another reason to be creative. Sometimes I do have a difficult time sitting still.

A favored client of mine contacted me saying that she had a solid cherry table and chairs that I could have if I’d like to do something with them. Solid cherry?! You bet I would!

Thank you, Lori!




This is a labor of love. The more I get into it and see the new finish, the more I love it. Deciding whether to keep it or put it up for sale will be the difficult part. I’m getting attached. I have a ways to go yet, but I thought I’d give you a peak at how it is coming along.

This is what I had to work with. It stood well on its own. It just needed a little TLC.


However... I decided to take it in a whole new direction.




Let’s see what is under the manufactured finish. It took several layers of varnish remover to get it off. The raw wood was beautiful. Looking at it and wondering which direction to take, I decided to bleach the wood as well. It neutralized the color of the wood all the more. I don’t know how familiar any of you are with the different woods. Working on wood projects had been, and still is, a part of what became my painting business so many years ago. Whereas, I don’t create many projects anymore, when something special comes along , it makes my eyes light up.

Cherry wood has what I call a soft grain to it. Unlike oak that has heavy graining, cherry wood has a smooth even finish. Oak has an uneven feel, and, even sometimes, is a little rough. I think cherry wood is elegant. Hence, my wanting to create something special with the table and chairs.



In a world where you can be anything, Be Kind.”

Lori Deschene







Whi I put two coats of a Varathane stain on it. The color is called Aged Wheat. The first coat looked awesome, however, keeping in mind the finished look I am after, I decided to go a step deeper by adding the second coat.

Aged Wheat has a bit of a greenish cast to it. Do I want green? No. However, cherry has reddish tones and if you understand color, red and green are compliment colors. Therefore the end result should be in the brown family. Do you think it worked?

This is where I am at with it right now. Two coats of stain dry and ready for the next step. What’s the next step? You will have to wait a week to see it. A product that I need hasn’t come in yet.

What am I going to do with the rest of it? I will tell you this much, the base is going to be painted and aged. Color – I’ll let you know next time, but I’ll tell you I am looking at the beautiful colors of Anne Sloane paint.

Stay well, my friends and family.

Doris

Don’t count the days.

Make the days count.

Mohammed Ali



Doris Clark

Author




© Doris Clark, May, 2020

 

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Join my mailing list

© 2019 by Doris Clark, Author. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page