top of page
  • Writer's pictureDoris Clark

Writing and Drawing/Drawing and Writing


It’s April, 2020, and we are all hunkered down in our homes. Or we should be. Spring is in the air and I am sure everyone is antsy to go outdoors. As we remember that this time isn’t just about “me”, we can also think of the tenacity, endurance, strength, and courage it takes for all of us to make our way through this horror story of the Coronavirus, or COVID-19.We all have these qualities. Sometimes they have been able to hide for awhile. But we can be assured they are there. We have already been showing our willingness to help our fellow man. We can make it through this.

Think of the brave healthcare workers, the essential business workers, and even ourselves in order to feel pride. We are all playing a vital role. I remind myself of what one doctor said – think of yourself as already having the virus – would you want your actions to be the reason someone becomes ill? Maybe if I stay inside today then one person will be safer. Maybe a grandma like myself, or a child, a baby, or even a young adult will be saved the misery. When I do go out, I cover my face with either a mask or a scarf. I don’t find it that difficult to do.


In a world where you can be anything, Be Kind.”

Lori Deschene







While I have been spending so much more time at home, I have been writing (mostly journaling) and working on some illustrations that I started some time ago. I have been keeping a journal just for this tumultuous time in which we live in. A record to pass down to the grandchildren and whoever else may want the history of this period. I was thinking of my mother who didn’t exactly keep a journal, however, she would write things down on a calendar. Usually about the weather. She kept her calendars.

The illustrations I have been playing with are ending up being created with watercolor pencils. I have been struggling with the concept until I came across them. It took a little bit to figure out how to actually use them, but now that I have, my spirits have lifted and it’s smooth sailing.




What I have discovered is that I expect too much of myself. Thinking that because I had been painting and being creative all those years, the illustrating should come easily for me. I was disappointed that I couldn’t just whip them out without barely a thought. That is one of the reasons I had put them aside for awhile.

But, no, this didn’t go back to my painting days. It was farther back than that. It goes back to when I went to school for Advertising, Design, and Illustration. Once I realized that, it became easier to enjoy the process and the results. I did quite well in the college courses, even making it on the Dean’s List.


I had forgotten how much I loved that kind of creativity. The biggest difference from my Decorative Painting business is that 90% of the work was large scale. Bringing the size back down has once again become familiar to me.

Don’t count the days.

Make the days count.

Mohammed Ali


I’m not really sure where the illustrations are headed at the moment – some to the trash can – but I am getting great enjoyment out of it now. And, oh, at this time do we need things that we enjoy and yet keep us home.

What are you doing to occupy your time? Any creativity going on? Reading any good books? (I have been, however, I will save that for another time.) Are you compiling a written list of the books you are reading during this historic period we find ourselves in?


Patience can be difficult at this time. Especially patience with ourselves.

Take care of yourself,

Doris


Doris Clark

Author




© Doris Clark, April, 2020

 

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Join my mailing list

© 2019 by Doris Clark, Author. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page