top of page
  • Writer's pictureDoris Clark

The Secret Life of Bees

Updated: Jul 1, 2019

Sue Monk Kidd’s novel of a young girl’s life and journey through her adolescence is an endearing read. The author takes her main character from a shy young girl to a young lady who stands up for what is right.





I’ll be honest, it was written in 2002, yet I hadn’t read it for the first time until three years ago. And then again last fall. I had seen the movie several times. I went on to read her next novel, The Mermaid Chair.



The style of writing that Ms. Kidd brings to her story holds your interest and the book quickly becomes a page-turner. It was inspiring for me to read while I was going through the process of my own writing. It helped me to know that maybe I wasn’t alone in telling a story that touches one’s heart.


If you haven’t read it yet, I highly recommend it. It would be a great book to read during the ‘dog days’ of summer.

Enjoy!

Doris





© Doris Clark, June, 2019



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page