top of page
  • Writer's pictureDoris Clark

On Being Thankful



When feeling low, I turn to my journal and start a gratitude list. Each day I write down five things that I am grateful for. There are days that I may only able to write that I am grateful for the sun shining, or, grateful that I have the ability to see. It always lifts my spirits.


The past few days I have been thinking a lot about being thankful. Of course, it’s Thanksgiving right?


"Yesterday's the past, tomorrow's the future, but today is a gift."

This year there is a lot to think about. My daughter is home from overseas and her husband will be joining us as well. My son-in-law won’t be arriving until the day after Thanksgiving, but I think that’s close enough. My daughter has had some challenges since she has been home, however she has shown us, once again, what a wise, strong woman she has become. My son and daughter-in-law live nearby, and, whereas, I get to see them more often, I am always grateful for my son being in my life. It fills me with pride just to think of him. And then there are the grandsons. My closest one is beginning his career in good order and I couldn’t be happier and prouder. My grandson that lives a ways from here, whom I don’t get to see as often, is building a good life for himself as well.


Gratitude is the inward feeling of kindness received.”


I had knee surgery some six weeks ago. I don’t think it could have gone better. The rest is up to me. There are some speed bumps to watch out for. (I tend to think that once I am feeling better I should be able to go full steam ahead, and I just can’t do that yet.) I look forward to spring when I can, at last, take a long walk again. Until then I am grateful to be on this side of the pain, on the mend.


Have a hearty meal!

I remember some of the years on the farms growing up. At least one of my brothers would be on leave from the service and home for Thanksgiving. Some of my brothers, (there are seven in total), would go duck hunting in the early morning hours. I think my brother, Fudd, especially enjoyed the hunt. They would come in after; ready to be warmed up. To be honest, there were probably years we had duck for our Thanksgiving meal. I remember the house feeling warm and there was steam on the windows. Those are memories I hold dear. It wasn’t always easy, but Mom did try to put together a holiday meal.


I must admit that I wonder sometimes if our Native American Indians actually celebrate Thanksgiving. So much destruction came with it for them. We should think about that and be thankful for their generosity.




I’m not feeling low, but I thought I would write a list today anyway.


My gratitude list for today:


1. I am grateful for my children, their spouses, and my grandsons.

2. I am grateful that I can now look back on the memories of the life we lived when I was growing up, and not have it affect me the way it once did.

3. I am grateful to be able to walk pain-free. Oh, I have some residual pain from the surgery, but that is nothing compared to what I once had.

4. I am grateful that Thanksgiving will be spent with friends and family.

5. I am grateful for being able to feel the joy of the upcoming holidays.


So, enjoy, my friends! Enjoy the feast we share in thankfulness. I am looking forward to trying recipes, new and old.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Doris


© Doris Clark, November, 2019

 

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page